Offense

Perfectionists. Really loyal people. People who love hard. Sensitive souls. These kind of people are very prone to offense. This is because they believe that they love without holding back and they expect the same from the world. 

I am one of these people. I can give everything to friends and family. I am a die hard loyal so you can imagine the many times I recoil when I am hit by things like gossip, failure to keep a promise, misunderstandings and any form of failure from another party. This feeling of disappointment is somewhat normal because of how such people are created but remaining hurt and offended is the problem. 

I have been thinking about this today as I spent time with God. He wants us to be free from hurt, free from offence, free free free. We cannot run this race of life with such baggage(weights). He expects us to know that only He is perfect. Only He can be that perfect person in our lives. He wants us to know that we are also imperfect. That He loves us unconditionally despite our imperfections. He wants us to know that as His children we grow to love like He does. Having received His perfect love and being completely content and whole in it, then we can love people despite their shortcomings. We can even put ourselves in their shoes and be surprised by what we find there. 

My husband reminds me constantly about this. He is the first person I have seen who constantly walks in the path of zero offense. He makes it look so easy. He is submerged in PEACE. I thank God for such an example. 

How beautiful a truth for me and you today. Let’s cut people some slack! Let’s forgive and let it go. I am not saying that we have to keep all people close to us. However we can have zero hard feelings towards anyone and even be willing to pray for them and be there for them when they need us. This is love manifested through us. A much better path. A God path! 

To freedom and love. 

1 Cor 13:8a

Love never fails!! 

2 thoughts on “Offense

Leave a Reply

