The Deep End!

10685174_10152400080838262_1150508722_n

A client called me this past Sunday and asked that I make her a Mickey Mouse cake for her son’s birthday. I thought of automatically buying a print out like I have always done but another thought occurred to me. I could make it more 3D…. The latter option would be more difficult but the challenge was some what exciting. I have also been praying for God to expand my gift and this was the perfect opportunity to trust Him.

The plan was to bake very early so that if it backfired, then I would result to my print out… Such little faith!! hehe!! I decided that I would plunge into the deep and believe that everything would go well. A friend of mine posted this poem on facebook and it reminded me of the place of faith and passion in this life. It is one of my favorite poem/prayer. I like to start every year with it… I guess I will pull it out every time I want to take the easy way out, every time I am dreaming too little, every time I am swimming too close to the shore….

Disturb us, Lord, when
We are too well pleased with ourselves,
When our dreams have come true
Because we have dreamed too little,
When we arrived safely
Because we sailed too close to the shore.

Disturb us, Lord, when
With the abundance of things we possess
We have lost our thirst
For the waters of life;
Having fallen in love with life,
We have ceased to dream of eternity
And in our efforts to build a new earth,
We have allowed our vision
Of the new Heaven to dim.

Disturb us, Lord, to dare more boldly,
To venture on wider seas
Where storms will show your mastery;
Where losing sight of land,
We shall find the stars.

We ask You to push back
The horizons of our hopes;
And to push into the future
In strength, courage, hope, and love.

Attributed – sir francis drake -1577
I went to google and found 2 youtube videos on how to do a proper Mickey Mouse cake. I also downloaded the photo on my phone and kept looking at it. I was fasting the day before the decoration day so i added the cake challenge to my prayer list. I stood for 2 hours doing it and had a back ache at the end. My hand would shake like crazy sometimes and I would want so bad to give up but I kept pushing. I felt like God was there with me, showing me what to do and cheering me on! πŸ™‚ The results amazed me. I am grateful to God for that ‘expansion’. Growth is not easy but it is of utmost importance.
My next challenge is a Barbie doll. So scary….
I will keep trusting though…. Deep end all the way!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›
Psalm 118:4
The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.
Love,
Ndanu
5 thoughts on “The Deep End!

Leave a Reply

