Plug In

Yesterday I met up with a friend that I had not seen in years. I was amazed at how hard life had been for him in those years. I wish I had been there to at least encourage him and pray with him 😦 He is doing much better now because in the end it does get better. God is good! \o/

I know that hard times can really mess with our faith and our view of God. I was very close to someone who was going through years and years of tough times. I was there during all the seasons and I saw how the pain tore at him. I saw how much he cried. I saw how difficult it was to keep trusting this God who seemed to have forgotten about him. This God seemed deaf and blind because it seemed like the more we prayed, the worse things got. Watching my friend tore at me too. I carried this bitterness around. It took a long time after that to heal and let the truth that God is good saturate every part of me! I still have trouble understanding why He allows some things to happen but we journey on!

I digress… 🙂 I remember asking my friend yesterday how his relationship with God was doing. He told me that he was struggling to make it work but things were not good. I know how life gets crazy. Our conversation got me thinking how it was easier to maintain a relationship with God in high school because the school schedule was well planned out for us. Out here it’s a jungle for most of us. There is traffic to beat early in the morning, crazy assignments at work the whole day, evening commitments like evening classes, meetings, kids to take care of and many other things that need to be done…. By night time we are all usually just yearning to sleep. Little time is left to spend time with God. Quiet time as it is commonly called is nearly an impossibility. This is made worse by the people that surround us at work or school. Godliness has become very rare. If we do not as Christians or aspiring Christians CONSCIOUSLY look for godly friends, we will soon realize we have zero godly people around us.

Premium-WordPress-Plugins

I am in a green spiritual season right now because of a weekly Bible Study that my friends and I began a few weeks ago. We encourage each other to keep walking, I feel accountable to them and the weekly teachings keep me in check. Sunday service is not enough to keep us strong in this christian journey. We have to make time to spend alone in prayer and meditation of the word, we need to find a few people who we can fellowship with during the week and most of all we need God to keep us in Himself. I am calling it a Plug in. We will die off if we try to walk alone! It is mandatory that we plug in! You can even start the fellowship or bible study yourself. Just an hour or two at least once a week with a few God chasers like you will go a long way!

I realize now that the times I have gone ‘coldest’ in my walk is when I have been too busy to pray and too busy to meet up for fellowship!!!!!

Hebrews 10:24-25
24 And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds,
25 not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

header4

Let’s plug in and keep walking!!

Love,
Ndanu.

Leave a Reply

