Knick Knacks

I have many small things to write about! 🙂 Here goes….

A friend of mine saw this post (https://semasoulful.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/here-there-everywhere/) and she immediately inboxed asking me to help her pray. She and her hubby wanted a baby badly. They had been trying for a long time but nothing was happening! 😦 That was in January. We prayed and after a while I forgot about it. I met her on Sunday and she is expecting a baby in October!! Miracles still happen and they are super exciting! I was hukuz screaming like a small child! Pray alone and with a friend. Do not give up!! He is still working miracles for normal people like you and I!!!!

To all you business minded people out there, there is red gold that has great demand but very little supply in Kenya right now. Strawberries!!!! If you have access to a farm or a green house please take my word for it and farm strawberries. They are used to make yoghurt, juices, cakes, shakes, jam and to decorate many cuisines. I am always frustrated by how rare strawberries are. I have had to look for alternatives for my forest cakes because strawberries are either unavailable or very bad quality of late. They could need a lot of care in the farm but the returns will be humongous. You will thank me when you are a millionaire in 2 years. Your first market will be Uchumi Supermarkets. Their supplier is doing a terrible job right now. If you are resilient, hardworking and constant you will not regret it!

I will also be one of your top customers! 😉

Strawberry-afbeelding

My May read was a book by one Ayi Kwei Armah, ‘The Healers’. It was my first book by Ayi and I loved it! As is my tradition, I now have to find his books one by one and read them all so that I have his full collection in the end. I have done that with Chimamanda and Khaled Hosseini so far! 🙂 I digress!! Back to The Healers… I feel like for me, the whole book was a history lesson. Ayi, skillfully took me hundreds of years back to the start of colonialism in Africa. I thought and felt what our people were thinking and feeling at the time. A very insightful read in deed. I recommend the book to everyone interested in history, in Africa and generally in a good story! I have to warn you that it is also a painful read. My heart was in knots and relays especially near the end of the book….

Ayi Kwei Armah

My June read is ‘The Autobiography of Malcolm X’!! Mmmmmmhhh 🙂 Let’s see how that goes! /o\ \o/

The last of my stories is on treasures. It seems I am on the roll today with red gold and now treasures 🙂
Any way, we all know this verse:
Matt 6
19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.

I have always heard the normal interpretation of the verse about the nature of the treasures. That we have to choose treasures that are eternal (like salvation) because all these other things will pass away. I however got a further interpretation: Apart from gaining a heart of wisdom to choose what my treasures are to be, I should also lay these treasures into the hands of God. Those things dear to me, those that I love: my family, my friendships, my man (soon 🙂 ), my children, my heart, my career and purpose, my business, my talents and gifts, my future, my health…. I can love and treasure all these as much as I want but truth is there is only so much I can do to keep them safe, alive and thriving. Most of us have sleepless nights and painful ulcers worrying about our different treasures. It is time to surrender them to God. To pray for them, do what we can and leave the rest to God. There is no safer place to leave our treasures than in the arms of The Ancient of Days. He never changes, He never sleeps nor slumbers, He is everywhere at the same time, He is the Beginning and the End and He is all powerful! No insurance or any manner of security can beat that. ’20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.’

jn-10_22-421

I am laying mine down every morning and taking up His joy and peace!!
Life is beautiful with my treasures securely hidden!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 😉

Love,

Ndanu

Leave a Reply

