Rescuer!!!

There is something I have been made more aware of lately. It’s an obvious truth but its realness and implications are not so obvious. It has dawned on me how human i am and we all are. We are blessed with life and the ability to think and make decisions. It is truly a blessing to walk on this earth and to enjoy the small joys of this life. Small things like a new book make my heart beat faster. I sit down to start devouring my new read and I can swear it feels like fireworks in my soul πŸ™‚ Salivating at the thought of white chocolate, re-playing a song a thousand times because i can’t get enough of it, enjoying the feel of the sun’s rays on the small of my back after a cold rainy morning, watching my nails and my hair grow and marveling at this miraculous-function by the creator (Ngai Mumbi), feeling a strong and strange fear when I receive a cake order because I realize that in my small way i will be creating. A cake that is not there now will come into being as my hands combine the ingredients. That soon it will be a tangible visible thing. Whaat?!! So creepy, exciting and humbling at the same time. We are created in the image of God!!! walalalah!! utter craziness!! beautiful craziness!! πŸ™‚

I digress! haha! Back to our mortality….

I have noticed how as a human being I get so stuck sometimes. There are situations, habits, struggles… that we cannot get ourselves out of. These things that are impossible for us remind us of our humanity. They remind us of our need for God. I recognize these situations and you probably do too. I went to see my friend’s dad in hospital last weekend and he was very very weak. The cancer has left him as only a fraction of the man he used to be. Disease reminds us of our mortality especially when no human solution is available. 😦 Death is another sure reminder of just how mortal we are. Death can come for us at any moment. It comes un-announced and we have no control over when and how. Our lives are solely in God’s hands. There are seemingly smaller situations like an anger problem that you have tried with all your strength to control, an abusive relationship that you just cannot get yourself to walk out of, a low self esteem that has weighed you down for years, an alcohol addiction that seems to get worse after each attempt to stop, sexual struggles that keep you locked up in their prison cells!!

Image

Thing is, we can never be free from some situations by ourselves. That is just the way we are. We have this deep-set need for God’s intervention in our lives. God is our strength. His prime purpose is to give us freedom. It’s the reason He is God. To love on us, to free us and give us life in abundance. Life running over. Life beyond measure. Life everlasting. Life to the full. Life in its fullness.

One of my struggles is what I call sinking. I am a combination of a deep thinker and deep feel-er! This makes me greatly affected by situations. On my way home from church yesterday, someone really angered me. They were pushing me and being unreasonable. I could feel myself sinking into that all familiar place. You see when I sink, I get so low. Usually the rest of my day is gloomy and I am unable to lift myself from that pit. It usually feels like I am covered with a very dark blanket that I just cannot lift off myself. It has been a while since I sank but as I walked home yesterday, I could feel myself sinking. I pleaded with God to help me.Β  I was sure I would miserably fail if HE did not help me back up. I got home still sinking and I hated it. We were having guests over and I had to be a happy host! I kept praying for God to rescue me and you know what? He did! I had my joy back after a while. Not the just-on-surface ‘joy’ for show but the real soul-deep joy! I was afloat!! I still am πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

Surrender your human struggles to God. He is not a man! He is God!!! Mighty to save! \o/ πŸ™‚

Psalm 35:10

All my bones will say, “LORD, who is like you? Who delivers the weak from the one who is stronger than he…..

Β 

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

Love,

Ndanu

Leave a Reply

