Rhythm and Blues ;-)

There is this guy I met a while ago and during our very 1st conversation he mentioned with great conviction that he would be very embarrassed if his girl turned up in an ankara outfit during a dinner with him in a nice restaurant. Knowing me, the relationship ended before it started!! LOL!! What did he mean? Embarrassed? His thoughts were incomprehensible to my brain! πŸ˜€ Kitenge is very beautiful and can be worn anywhere. In the last 2 years I have fallen in love with all african fabrics and I rock ankara to work, to church, to weddings, to dinners, to picnics…. I have ankara bags, shoes, bracelets, turbans πŸ˜€ (haha! Ok maybe I am obsessed πŸ˜€ ) Anyway, seriously you can achieve whatever look you want depending on what you make. You can go all casual, official or smashing hot like I will show in a few πŸ™‚

I got this beautiful fabric from my brother’s fiance. I send her fabric every time she travels to her home in Rwanda or Congo. They have such yummy fabric!! I got it many months ago but I wanted to use it for a big occasion and with the perfect design. The big event came up (my friend’s wedding) and I created the perfect design in my head. I chose the fundi, since I have many, πŸ™‚ and she surpassed my expectations.

Image

The ‘exposed shoulders’ design was a first for me but I loved it. Girls ensure you have a good strapless bra with such designs πŸ˜‰

Image

Fundi – Esther. She has always been my favorite fundi. I met her when I was in uni and she knows how to get my fit perfectly!

Fundi Location – Donholm – next to Equity Donholm

Fundi Cost – 1,800.

Fundi number – 0731 114 371

Fabric – Rwanda for around 1,500 bob

Overall rating – She did well!!!! I and everyone else loved the dress. She is very busy though so she cannot be hurried. I gave her a whole month to do my dress. She is thus not the go to fundi when you want a dress ASAP πŸ™‚ 😦

I made the bracelets myself and the hair too πŸ˜€

SHIRT

As has become a habit of late. I had a shirt made for my baby brother! I designed it for him and it looked great in my head. The fundi however did such an amazing job! Wah!

My brother will have to put up with all these designs of mine until THE man wakes up from his deep sleep in Eden!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Image

Image

Fundi – Sam. We are sticking to him for shirts. He is too amazing!

Fundi’s number – 0720 210 815

Fundi’s location – Next to Uchumi Buru Buru

Fabric – Rwanda

Overall rating – Fantastic! πŸ™‚

Β 

Note:

I have been asked several times since i rocked this dress if I am a designer. I can’t really call myself that but I do design my own dresses with the help of the internet of course. I combine different things from designs on the internet and from my God given head and the result is what i post here. I am not so comfortable designing for other people (apart from my brother of course :-*) but life is too short so I can try. Inbox me and I will help where I can! πŸ™‚

Life is beautiful! God is goooood!! \o/

Β 

All The Best!

Β 

Love,

Ndanu

2 thoughts on “Rhythm and Blues ;-)

  1. Hae..i would want the fabric from Rwanda n take it to the same fundi.I have always wished to get an awsome kitenge outfit..pliz assist πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

