Love 101

Writing is my outlet. I am like a waterfall with stories demanding to fall! πŸ™‚ I feel like I can paint a somewhat perfect picture of my thoughts and feelings with words. I had a CRAZY day, thoroughly scrubbed myself in the shower immediately i got home and now i sit with my laptop to offload from my heart before I sleep. Fred Hammond’s “Bread of Heaven” playing very softly on repeat. His scrumptious, rustic voice giving my fingers rhythm, helping them to keep in step with my heart beat.

I don’t know where to start. Maybe I should start with the little girl who could not have been more than 4 years. She had severe burns on her arms and other places i did not fully take in. She cried so much as the doctor was attending to her. Her pain was so intense that she cried like a grown up. I don’t know if that makes sense but her cry sounded like that of a grown woman and hearing her made me shrink inside!!

Maybe I should start with the guy who’s bed was right next to ours. He was very dirty and was smelling of concentrated urine. He lay his head on the pillow face down and was bleeding from somewhere on his head, droplets soundlessly hitting the waiting area floor. Or maybe I should start with the woman who single handedly brought her thin, sickly husband to hospital. She got to the hospital at around 8am and was still moving around the hospital at 4pm. I wondered where her children were. They, the children, should be around 30 years now judging from her age. Or, should I start with the young man who had been a victim of mob justice and his dad was shouting at him about the unnecessary costs he brought on the family with this hospital visit. Do you realize that even thieves belong to families? They have dads who care enough about them to bring them to hospital after they have stolen and been beaten up… Ain’t life just plain INTERESTING?!! I think i’ll start with the young man who was vomiting a green slimy liquid that i could not bear look at twice. On second thought, i will not start with any of these people…..

A hospital is a humbling place to be. The air of despair and helplessness can be overwhelming but in the midst of all this craziness i experienced today, I learnt the true definition of love! Love is not only the balloon feeling you get when you are in love!:-) Β You know that weak in the knees and slightly breathless shenanigans? πŸ˜€ I think that could be part of it but i saw another side of this love coin today. The side seldom talked about. The side we often forget about. God decided to teach me today. He said, “Baby girl, you think you really know what love is? Let me show you what Love really is? You got to have a mature, sacrificial love Baby girl! When you have this kind of love, then you have MY kind of love! I will love through you today Baby girl!! Watch and learn!!!” πŸ™‚

Love is immediately accepting(at 10pm) to be in Athi river at 6am the next day because your newly found friend needs you. Love is having a sleepless night (not sleeping at all) worrying about your friend and the 6am need she has. Love is leaving the house very early on Sunday morning with a headache from the sleepless night but happy all the same. Love is refusing to cry when you finally meet your friend and she is crying but you can see in her eyes that she needs you to be strong for her. Love is sitting with her silently for a while because in that silence everything is said. Love is standing for hours at the Kenyatta National Hospital admission place with no food in your system. Love is taking your friend to the hospital bathroom (because she can’t take herself) and leaving there with shoes totally wet with strangers’ urine and many other unmentionable things. Love is staying with those shoes the whole day and not throwing up like you would on a normal day. Love is sitting in the waiting room for more than 6 hours, a waiting room with no windows, a waiting room with more than 40 people, a waiting room smelling of sweat, medicine, blood, urine all put together. Love is being ready to empty your bank account to foot the crazy hospital bill because money is just paper any way!! Love is praying in tongues with your girls and finally letting the tears fall there at the waiting room and allowing God to use you even when other people probably think you are insane. Love is breaking out into song at that crowded waiting room just to make your friend smile. Love is feeling your heart soar just because you’ve seen her smile for the 1st time in the last 13hrs. Love is walking home after such a long day and realizing that you would no doubt do this again tomorrow if need be and that there is no where else you’d have preferred to be this day than there with your friend and the family, loving them! Walking home slowly with tears in your eyes because you feel so loved!! Realizing the absurd fact that all the loving you need sometimes is being allowed to love someone else wholeheartedly. That in them allowing you to love them deeply they are actually loving you! That in receiving your love, they have shown you deep love!! A beautiful irony!! Spectacular!!

Image

Yahweh is the amazing teacher! He is unchanging! Ever faithful and true!! So real!!! Thank you for loving me with all my faults! Help me love like you do! Heal my friend too and everyone i saw in pain today!!Β 

Love,

Ndanu.

9 thoughts on “Love 101

  1. Amazing Pesh…my heart cries out to God each time I see His people suffer in search of basic healthcare…It gives me great joy to know that He heals!

  2. Thank you for this revelation………
    Not many understand this and I am blessed to be one of those who it has been shared to. Be blessed

Leave a Reply

