Runaway Bride

Two posts in the same week!! Haha!! My soul is full indeed. \o/

This conviction has been tugging at my heart since Saturday. God put it in me several years ago, reminded me of it through my friend Mwika this past Saturday and tested me on it this week.

Have you ever thought about why God compares our relationship with Him to that of a bride and a groom or to marriage? I have been thinking about it and I am sure there are many reasons for this but the one in my heart today is the – love, commitment and forever- in marriage. As God designed it, marriage should be for forever. When 2 people say I do to each other, they have forever as their goal. They work on their relationship and stick through thick and thin. They fight, have misunderstandings, disagree but always work things out because it’s a FOREVER kind of relationship. A wife does not move out of the matrimonial home after every argument.

You are probably wondering where I am going with this. I am struggling too but there is a point. Please bear with me 🙂 🙂

I live in a generation that does not have the FOREVER view of marriage. Love is no longer as serious a commitment as it used to be. This in turn has affected our relationship with God. We love Him and are loyal to Him when things are going our way. His praises are continuously on our lips during good times. However, we find it hard to trust Him in the storm. We throw tantrums and step back into the dark to “get back at Him” for not giving us that man, that job, that girlfriend, that promotion, that visa…..

Life can be very hard sometimes but God wants us to talk to Him when we are soaring high and even when we are deeply stuck in the mud. The same way couples sit down to talk about their pain is the same way God wants to hear about our pain and also talk to us and take us through the pain. He loves us unconditionally and says that His love is from everlasting to everlasting. His love has no beginning or end. He loves us now and forever. Imagine if we learn’t to do the same; to love Him in laughter and also in PAIN. If we could allow Him to comfort us in our pain, to provide for us in our lack, to love us in our loneliness, to heal us in our sicknesses and give us His peace when things make no sense. To trust that He has a plan for us that is always for our GOOD!!

Job 13:15

Though He slay me, yet will I hope in Him.

Job 2:10

Shall we accept good from God, and not trouble?” In all this, Job did not sin in what he said.

What kind of relationship is this that Job had with God? He remained faithful even after EVERYTHING was taken away from him. God was there for him throughout his pain, God knew that Job could handle the ordeal and that’s why He allowed it. God can never allow anything to happen to us that we cannot handle. The problem is that we consider Him the enemy and give up even before the trial accomplishes what it was meant to. Little do we know that we have no one rooting for us, believing in us, loving us, protecting us, ready to die for us more than God is!!!

There is something I was trusting God for this week. It is extremely important to me and I needed it desperately. He did not give it to me and I was in so much pain. I know that He has a plan for good even in this situation. I decided to tell Him about it and to continue trusting Him. This has helped me not to be bitter and He is walking with me in this storm. I have His peace. That peace that surpasses all human understanding!!

God help us to trust you at all times. Help us to open our hearts to you so You can be I AM to us at all times. Help us to know that you are not afraid to hear our questions and complaints about this life because at least we are talking to you and not locking you out or destroying our lives trying to get back at You. Give us this consistent and FOREVER kind of love for you so in turn we can experience the fullness of Your love!

Image

 

Peace

🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

