Prayer Room

Today i got to the office very early and decided to pop in to CITAM Valley Road to pray! I was eager to get into the presence of God. I wanted nothing in particular this morning, just to to love on Him and let Him refresh me:-) I found a corner at the balcony and as i settled down to pray i heard a male voice deep in prayer. He was praying very loudly. I thought I could still pray despite the ‘noise’ but i ended up listening to his prayer. He was greatly distressed and I could not ignore his earnest plea. His prayer went something like this, “….Lord i detach myself from Sarah. Any illegal ties that were created during our affair, I detach myself from them. Have mercy on me Lord. Heal me from lust! Let my mind focus on your word! I detach myself from her! I detach myself from her! I detach myself from her. I do not want to sin against you anymore. Deliver me from adultery and fornication! Give me peace Father! Please give me back my peace! I want to worship you again. Detach me from her! Forgive me Father!….”

I could not see him and I did not even try to look. I was drawn in by his pain and slowly I began to pray for him. My heart literally carried him and I asked God to forgive him and give him the peace that he greatly desired. The peace that surpasses all human understanding! He left after around 30 minutes and I was left thinking about him, about what sin does to us and about God. What sin does is to destroy us and steal our peace. It could be fun at first but when we have both our feet inside it, when it has sucked the life out of us, when roles have changed and we have no more control over it, when it has mastered us, then it is not fun anymore 😦 This is especially so for sexual sins! There is something about sexual sin that is just “deadly”! Even Paul warns against it;

1 Cor 6:18 Flee from sexual immorality. All other sins a person commits are outside the body, but whoever sins sexually, sins against their own body.

The effects of sexual sin are so difficult to overcome but there is hope in our God! Who is like our God? He is able to bring healing! It may take time but it is possible! Nothing is impossible with our God! He parted the red sea and in the same way He can separate us from our sin! Psalm 103:12 As far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.
His love for us is unfathomable! He loved this guy before he slept with Sarah and loved him the same after he did. He is an awesome God! Of course God wished that the sin did not happen but His love is unconditional and everlasting. I am sure the healing began during our prayer today! I will add this ‘stranger’ to my prayer journal. Heal him Lord, restore him to yourself, fill him with your peace and in so doing glorify Yourself my King!!

wq-my-king1

8 thoughts on “Prayer Room

  1. This is awesome, really encouraging that you found God’s presence as you prayed for a stranger.
    God loves you Ndanu, oh and the short hair rocks!!!
    Nzisa

Leave a Reply

