How did I get here? O_o

A few days ago I had lunch with a dear friend of mine and I could not help but ask myself this question, “How does one get to a bad place?”

how-to-cold-call1

This is a question many of us ask ourselves at least once in this life. “How did I get here?” The circumstances around such a question are usually negative. The place is usually a place that we have never imagined we would be. It is even a place we vowed never to be and passionately hated even the thought of being there. It could be an addiction, a relationship, a character trait etc.

This awesome friend of mine is in a “relationship” with a guy who already has a girlfriend. The judge in you is asking how I even have such a friend in the first place!! haha! She is a cool soul and life can happen to even the best of us! We sat there in the cafe talking about the situation and i kept thinking, “how did she get here?” How did she become the other woman. Where was I when all this was happening? We have always strongly condemned unfaithfulness of any sort but now my friend is here in the heart of it. My heart was aching and I was shaken! Shaken by the fact that we are human and that we can change. We can be one thing today and a totally different thing tomorrow. This humanness, this mortality, this weakness makes me rely on this immortal God of mine more and more! Without His Grace, hell would break loose in me!! Hell – literally! Wololoh!!

Eph 2:8

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God.

Long after the conversation was over, I was left thinking. You see, I think a lot! I stop and talk to myself. I like to dig inside and talk to God too. In my hearts of hearts, there is always a conversation going on. I am convinced that life changing decisions are always made in the heart of hearts. Going to that place inside is scary for many of us. This is because the voice of reason, the voice of truth is clearly heard in there. I think that every time I have found myself in a disastrous situation, not one caused by a flood or a hurricane but one I caused myself, it is always after I have neglected the habit of listening to that still small voice in my heart of hearts. It is always after i have been too busy to STOP and evaluate my recent decisions and feelings. It is always after I have noticed something wrong and ignored it. It is usually not a serious problem in the beginning but it grows because it is ignored and soon it is a giant problem and I am stuck in the middle of it.

I don’t know what kind of seemingly small situation you have found yourself in today or a few weeks ago… A disaster starts with a single thought, a feeling, a text, a joke, a click of a button and soon it’s a big mountain! A disaster! Let’s stop today, evaluate and run away from trouble before it blows up in our faces!

Psalm 28:8

The LORD is the strength of his people, a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.

Proverbs 18:10

The name of the Lord is a strong tower; The righteous run to it and are safe.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

